About PSU

         The Prince of Songkla University was established in 1967 to provide tertiary higher education in southern Thailand. The original aims of the University were to raise general education standards and give support to regional industry and development. Today, PSU serves as a center for research and technology and provides academic services to the local community. It also provides valuable support for the preservation and study of southern Thai culture.
         PSU was the first university to open in southern Thailand. A multi-campus institution in five locations throughout the south of Thailand in Hat Yai, Pattani, Phuket, Surat Thani and Trang, in 2007, the total number of student enrollment in the university was 34,130. Currently, enrollment is increasing rapidly by more than 1,500 students per year.
         PSU’s main campus is located in the busy, commercial city of Hat Yai in Songkhla province. It is the largest city in southern Thailand and serves as an important commercial and transportation center. Local industries include rubber production, fish and shrimp farming. The population of Hat Yai including the neighboring city of Songkhla is 355,633. The beautifully landscaped Hat Yai Campus provides a serene educational setting for the fifteen faculties and one graduate school located there. Information about the programs/courses offered within the various faculties is available at http://www.international.psu.ac.th/.

About PSU Faculty of Medicine

           The Faculty of Medicine was set up in order to mitigate the public health problems in southern Thailand and to solve the medical personnel shortage problem. It was formally established in 1972 and enrolled the first batch of 35 medical students in 1973. Initially, its temporary office was located in the Faculty of Engineering, the teaching was undertaken in the Faculty of Science and the practical clinical training was carried out in Hat Yai Hospital and Songkla Hospital. In March 1979, the first batch of 31 students was graduated.

           Since the beginning, it has been envisaged that a large hospital be built on the campus to facilitate the teaching, research, and training of medical personnel in various disciplines and for the provision of healthcare to the general public. On August 26, 1976 the foundation stone of the hospital of the Faculty of Medicine was laid by His Majesty the King, and the name “Songklanagarind Hospital” was later graciously bestowed upon it. The hospital formally opened, in 1986 and it is now capable of accommodating up to 635 in-patients.
           Over the years, following the first intake of undergraduate students in 1979, the Faculty of Medicine increased the number of degree programmes on offer at both undergraduate and graduate levels. At present, the Faculty of Medicine consists of 14 departments, namely, Anesthesiology, Biomedical Sciences, Community Medicine, Internal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Ophthalmology, Orthopaedic Surgery and Physical Medicine, Otolaryngology, Pathology, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, Radiology, Surgery and Emergency Medicine. We have strived to stay at the forefront of medical education practice and theory, through the application of both a problem-based learning approach and the integration of basic medical science and clinical science.